The Role of the Governing Body

The Local Governing Body is divided into two committees: the Curriculum and Standards Committee, and the Resources Committee. The Curriculum and Standards Committee reviews, monitors and evaluates curriculum planning and delivery, contributes to the Academy’s Improvement Plan, and develops and reviews curriculum policies as identified within the academy’s review programme. It also ensures that the requirements of children with SEND are met, reviews the impact of student attendance and behaviour and oversees how Pupil Premium funding is used and the success of interventions. The Resources Committee’s responsibilities include budget forecasting, quotations and tenders and monitors on-going expenditure. It also has the responsibility of exercising a duty of care towards the academy’s employees and consults on issues such as recruitment and retention, and sickness and absence levels, and health and safety. It monitors safeguarding procedures and a named Governor  liaises with the academy’s senior designated safeguarding member (Lindsay Gilbert).

Each committee meets three times a year (once a term) and the full governing body meets three times a year (once a term).

Our Chair of Governors is Martin O’Connell. To contact him, you can email or write to him:
c/o Magnus Church of England Academy
Earp Avenue
NG24 4AB

The governing body consists of eleven governors comprising:

Diocesan Sponsor Governors (7)

Appointed by the Directors of the Diocese of Southwell & Nottingham Multi Academy Trust.

NameStart DateEnd DateSubject Area (as a Link Governor)
Martin O'Connell
Chair of Governors
22 August 201421 August 2022Behaviour & Attendance
Mrs Jo Tilley
(Local church representative – ex-officio)
Currently a Chaplain at Magnus Academy
10 March 201409 March 2022Governor Training/Induction
The Reverend Paul Franklin
(ex-officio - representing the
Archdeacon of Newark)
19 May 2017Christian Ethos
The Reverend Alex Brompton13 Sept 201712 Sept 2021Teacher Development
Mr Giles Coulombeau02 July 201801 July 2022Post 16
Mr Matt Colbourne18 Sept 201817 Sept 2022Maths and Numeracy

Co-opted Governors

NameStart DateEnd Date

Parent Governors (2)

NameStart DateEnd DateSubject Area (as a Link Governor)
Jemma Young7 July 20166 July 2020English and Literacy
Robin WilkinsonPupil Premium

Staff Governors (2 including the Principal)

NameStart DateEnd DateSubject Area (as a Link Governor)
Mrs A Martin
1 September 2016
Mr Martin Frost23 Jan 201822 Jan 2022Health & Safety